YPMarchQ: What is your name and where were you born?

My name is Peter Trearchis, and I was born in Lowell, MA.

Q: What was your major in college? Why did you choose it?

I majored in Chemical Engineering at the University of Massachusetts, Lowell. I always had an interest in math and science, so engineering was the perfect way to help people by creating new products or improving existing ones. During my studies, I decided to focus on chemical engineering as it involves more chemistry and biology than physics.

Q: What is your current position? What do you do at your job?

Currently, I am a Process/System Engineer at Pfizer. My role involves a variety of different areas – especially supporting manufacturing through automation, process, validation, and plant engineering.

Q: What has your career path been like so far?

Although I graduated in 2013 and am fairly new to the field, I have been able to work on a variety of projects at Pfizer. I continue to develop my skills in different areas, such as creating, commissioning, troubleshooting and validating automation phases in the manufacturing environment. In addition to reliability engineering assignments in the plant environment, I also have been able to lead a project for my department involving process engineering and project management roles.

Q: What are you ultimate career goals?

Ultimately, I would like to be in a leadership role in a company, manage projects and help with the engineering aspects. I also would like to have a position that deals with engineering economics, involves the corporate world and interacts with other sites domestically or internationally.

Q: What is your favorite part of your job?

It is very rewarding to see how your portion of a project plays out throughout the entire manufacturing process. For example, it’s exciting to see the part of an automation phase you helped program run successfully on the floor and see operators use an HMI you helped. In addition, working in the pharmaceutical industry is rewarding in itself. Just knowing that you are helping to create products that will treat patients around the world is motivational, and seeing patients visit the site is incredibly moving and inspiring.

Q: When did you join ISPE, and how long have you been a Member?

I joined ISPE about two years ago while in my senior year of undergraduate studies.

Q: What benefits have you realized from being a Young Professional Member of ISPE?

As an YP Member of ISPE, I’ve truly seen its benefits in the opportunities to meet people from other operating companies, suppliers and vendors at the many networking, education and social events. I’ve met other young professionals through committee meetings, the Boston Product Show at Gillette Stadium and attending education sessions with professional development and networking components. As a whole, all of the Young Professionals I have met at events and meetings have been extremely smart, driven and open to networking. I enjoy being surrounded by people with similar interests and aspirations.

Q: What involvement have you had within ISPE?

Shortly after joining ISPE, I became a member of the YP Committee for the Boston Chapter. Last year, I served as the YP Representative for the Boston Product Show Committee.

Q: Any role models/mentors that have helped and are currently helping you in your career/life?

My former professors in college were great mentors in helping me get me through my studies and the necessary experiences that landed my job at Pfizer. I have multiple mentors at work take time to assist me when I have questions and for that I am extremely grateful.

Q: If you were not in the pharma/biotech industry, what career path would you have taken?

I would have worked as a chemical engineer in a different industry such as materials, oil, or research and development. However, if I could pick any career without caring about expenses or income I would have been a travel blogger or worked for some sort of travel agency since I love traveling!

Q: What is one skill you wish you had but you don’t?

I wish I could have been a competitive swimmer in high school and college. I am obsessed with the Olympics, so I always wish I could compete in swimming events.

Q: Any hobbies?

I love to play ultimate frisbee, ski, hike, travel, research genealogy and read.

Q: Favorite food?

This is a very hard question to answer, so I will just be general, I love Greek food!

Q: What is something people would be surprised to learn about you?

I have been researching my family history since I was in middle school.

Q: Any advice for other young professionals in the field?

Don’t be afraid to join new clubs, committees and attend events by yourself. Network as much as possible and don’t be afraid to ask for more work at your job if you want to develop other skills and find mentors.

Q: Finish the sentence “I can’t live without…”

Traveling! After studying abroad my sophomore year in the UK, I have to at least go on a couple trips a year or I will go stir crazy. I love seeing new places and learning new things.

RELATED POSTS