Q: What is your full name?
Lindsey Elizabeth Daniel (formerly Jewett)Lindsey Daniel

Q: Birthplace? Nashville, TN

Q: What college(s) did you attend? Virginia Tech, GO HOKIES!

Q: What was your major in college? Why did you choose it? Chemical Engineering. I always loved math and science and solving puzzles. I knew going into college that I wanted to major in engineering. I was specifically interesting in Biomedical but Virginia Tech did not offer it. But I loved Chemistry and since I had to make a decision,  I chose Chemistry and never looked back.

Q: What is your present position? What do you do at your job? I am a Process Engineer at CRB. I primarily work on Process Design which means I  design how to make a drug on a large manufacturing scale.

Q: What has your career path been like so far? Honestly, it has been a dream come true. My job allows me to work in the entire spectrum of the industry including engineering, process development, validation, commissioning, construction and project management.  It has been the best learning experience for me. I also am very fortunate to have an amazing mentor who is always teaching me and putting my educational needs first. I think that is the biggest advantage to young professionals today.

Q: What are you ultimate career goals? My company has two main paths that someone like me would go down – technical and project management – and I am lucky enough to enjoy both. I don’t really see myself becoming an expert in one area of unit operation. I also do not see myself only doing project management without any engineering. I think I am going down a path that would utilize both. I like to be broad and have a taste of everything instead of just being focused on one area. I hope my career takes me somewhere that can accommodate my passion for leadership as well as my technical skills.

Q: What is your favorite part of your job? I love design. It is really fun to figure out the puzzle of how to make something and how to get it from one part of the process to the next.

Q: When did you join ISPE/how long have you been a member? I joined my senior year of college so about 2.5 years.

Q: What benefits have you realized from being a Young Professional Member of ISPE? Well, it got me my job! To be honest, I only joined ISPE because I saw there was a chapter in San Diego which  was where I was looking for a job. I joined so I could send my resume to the San Diego Chapter president who sent it out to her board. Within a week I had two interviews and within a month I had 2 job offers! It was the best $20 I ever spent! After I graduated, I quickly realized even more benefits it had: networking, education, friends in new places… I made a lot of new friends when I moved  to a new city. It has also helped me a lot in my job because it allows me to stay educated on what is happening in the area and what new projects are on the horizon.

Q: What involvement have you had within ISPE? I have been on the San Diego board as the YP Chair for 2 years now. I also have been on the YP Committee for 2 years. Last year, I was the Co-Chair for the YP Committee and this year I am the Chair of the Committee.

Q: Any role models/mentors that have helped and are currently helping you in your career/life? YES! I have had many mentors and role models and they are the reason I am where I am today. I think this is the most important thing as a young professional. It is easy to get lost when you first start out because there are many directions you can take and you are so ambitious. Having someone to take you under their wing, channel your energy and invest time in teaching you has been priceless. My mentor, Tom Hanks (the real one, not the actor), has invested so much time and energy into me. I probably would have given up a long time ago without him pushing and inspiring me.

Q: Any Young Professionals you admire? Why? I have always really looked up to Jennifer Clark, but who hasn’t? She is in a league of her own. She is incredibly ambitious and is a mentor to so many. I have seen her time and time again take someone under her wing. She has so much passion for her career and ISPE in general. She also is just an extremely kind person. In short, she is a ROCKSTAR and she inspires me.

Q: If you were not in the pharma/biotech industry, what career path would you have taken? I probably would be a horse trainer if I could afford it! I love horses and ride almost every day. The mental challenge of working with an animal that is 10 times my size and convincing them to do work because I ask them to is incredible to me. The bond between horse and rider is something I have never experienced in human relationships.

Q: What is one skill you wish you had but you don’t? Focus. I am scatterbrained and wish I could just sit down and focus on something for more than 5 minutes!

Q: Any hobbies? Riding horses, obviously. I also am very active. I run a lot and enjoy half marathons (full marathons are for crazy people), I also swim regularly and like to spend time outdoors. I live in San Diego so it is basically a sin not to be outside exercising.

Q: Favorite food? Italian, I love pasta!

Q: What is something people would be surprised to learn about you? I am pretty much an open book and not much I do or say surprises people.

Q: Any advice for other young professionals in the field? I have said it before and will say it again, get a good mentor! I think the best thing a YP can have is someone to look up to and teach them. I have no clue where I would be without my mentors. I have lots of them and they are out there. When people reach out to you or offer you help you should take it! I know a lot of YPs are shy and don’t think people really mean it when they offer to help them but they do!

Q: Finish the sentence “I can’t live without…” food. Deny me food and I turn into a monster! You have been warned!

RELATED POSTS